Media **E**cology **A**ssociation



THE 2007 MEA AWARDS

- The Marshall McLuhan Award for Outstanding Book in the Field of Media Ecology to Peter K. Fallon for Printing, Literacy, and Education in Eighteenth Century Ireland: Why the Irish Speak English
- The **Walter Benjamin Award** for Outstanding Article in the Field of Media Ecology to **Corey Anton** for "Playing with Bateson: Denotation, Logical Types, and Analog and Digital Communication"
- The **Erving Goffman Award** for Outstanding Scholarship in the Ecology of Social Interaction to **Richard A. Lanham** for *The Economics of Attention: Style and Substance in the Age of Information*
- The **Susanne K. Langer Award** for Outstanding Scholarship in the Ecology of Symbolic Form to **Martin H. Levinson** for *Sensible Thinking for Turbulent Times*
- The **Dorothy Lee Award** for Outstanding Scholarship in the Ecology of Culture to **David MacDougall** for *The Corporeal Image: Film, Ethnography, and the Senses*
- The **Lewis Mumford Award** for Outstanding Scholarship in the Ecology of Technics to **Timothy C. Campbell** for *Wireless Writing in the Age of Marconi*And to
 - **Fred Turner** for From Counterculture to Cyberculture: Stewart Brand, the Whole Earth Network, and the Rise of Digital Utopianism
- The **Harold A. Innis Award** for Outstanding Thesis or Dissertation in the Field of Media Ecology to **Adriana Braga** for *Feminilidade Mediada por Computador: Interação Social no Circuito-Blogue* [Computer-Mediated Femininity: Social Interaction on the Blog Circuit]
- The **Mary Shelley Award** for Outstanding Fictional Work to **Janna Levin** for *A Madman Dreams of Turing Machines*
- The **John Culkin Award** for Outstanding Praxis in the Field of Media Ecology to **Michael Wesch** for *The Machine is Us/ing Us* (video on YouTube.com)
- The **Louis Forsdale Award** for Outstanding Educator in the Field of Media Ecology to **Octavio Islas**
- The **Jacques Ellul Award** for Outstanding Media Ecology Activism to **Donna Flayhan**
- The **James W. Carey Award** for Outstanding Media Ecology Journalism to **Philip Marchand**
- The Walter J. Ong Award for Career Achievement in Scholarship to Jay David Bolter
- The **Neil Postman Award** for Career Achievement in Public Intellectual Activity to **Eric McLuhan**